Lise Rakner has been appointed professor in Comparative Politics at the University of Bergen. She is the first female professor at the Institute.

Jan Isaksen is a member of the African Capacity Building Foundation (ACBF) executive board which met in May and June 2007 respectively in Bulawayo and Entebbe. As a member of the Steering Committee of the Norwegian supported project on Formative Process Research on Regional Integration in Southern Africa (FOPRISA), Isaksen also participated in a SC meeting in Johannesburg in May. In June, he made a presentation on the topic "Do we have Capacity for the Future" at MOKORO's 25th Anniversary celebrated  at St-Hildas College Oxford, where he outlined  past development emerging issues and future trends in Capacity building in Africa. June also saw the finalisation on draft studies on Angola's budget system (Title: Budget, State and People: Budget Process, Civil Society and Transparency in Angola) and an overall evaluation of Norway's aid to hydro electric power development in cooperation with Scanteam.

Odd-Helge Fjeldstad participated at the International Cooperation Workshop on Technical Assistance for the Implementation of the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC), hosted by the Government of Uruguay, Montevideo, 30 May - 1 June 2007. He presented a paper on the implementation of UNCAC developed by U4. He also organised a session on taxation and state-building at the Annual Bank Conference on Development Economics (ABCDE), which took place in Bled, Slovenia, 17-18 May 2007. He presented a joint paper with professor Mick Moore entitled "Taxation and State-Building: Poor Countries in a Globalised World".

Vibeke Wang has won a four-year PhD scholarship in Comaprative Politics at the University of Bergen for a project on The economic accountability function of legislatures. Parliament as an actor in poverty reduction in Malawi, Tanzania and Uganda. She will start in November.

"Chr. Michelsen's gift to the nation" is an annual scholarship for a distinguished Norwegian scholar. This year, PhD-student Jonas Krabbe Hjort, University of Berkely who studies development economics, was awarded 50 000 NOK.

CMIStudents who have graduated this spring:

Madhab Prasad Bhusal

Leah Junge

Hilde Kjøstvedt

Unn-Jenny Utne Kvam

Anette Staaland

Stina Petersen