The ESAIDARM, a forerunner for MEFMI (The Macroeconomic and Financial Management Institute for Southern and Eastern Africa) was launched in 1993. MEFMI is now a regionally owned institute registered based in Harare. Its Board is composed of one representative (permanent secretary/head of department) from the Ministry of Finance in each member country with the governor of the Central Bank in each country being the alternate member. MEFMI currently has 13 member countries - Angola, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Institute covers macroeconomic and financial management and delivers its work in capacity building through four operational divisions. These are: - the macroeconomic management programme; - the financial sector management programme; - debt management programme; and - the multi-disciplinary activities unit (which manages the fellows development programme, executive forum series, and institutional review series). Norway has supported MEFMI since 2005. A new phase is being prepared for the period of 2007-2009. The purpose of the study is to provide information and assessment of MEFMI to enable Norwegian development cooperation authorities to decide whether continued support is warranted.

Recent CMI publications: